We are sincerely happy to announce the "Comparative Climates of Terrestrial Planets II: Understanding How Climate Systems Work" conference. This next conference (CCTP2) will be held at the NASA Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California (close to Mountain View CA and ~40 mi south of San Francisco CA and ~15 mi north of San Jose CA), 8-11 September 2015. The first CCTP meeting was held in Boulder, Colorado 2012, and fostered a series of interdisciplinary conversations on a wide range of planetary climates. We are planning for a similar range of conversations at the CCTP2 meeting, including the effects of the Sun and other stars on the climates of Earth and other planets in and beyond the Solar System. We anticipate the publication of a formal NASA Conference Proceeding (CP) comprised of extended abstracts from this meeting, including abstracts from individual presentations, and an Executive Summary that captures the essence of the presentations and panel discussions during the conference. The theme of this year’s CCTP meeting is "Understanding How Climate Systems Work." We encourage the submission of any research that puts planetary climate in the perspective of a comparative framework, including (but not limited to) the effects from space weather, the parent star, and orbital forcing. Abstract submission will open on March 23rd and will close on April 31st. This meeting is supported by NASA’s Science Mission Directorate (SMD).

Undergraduate And Graduate Student Travel Awards

Limited student travel support may be available for U.S. citizens or legal residents for this meeting.

Student travel applications should include the following information:

  1. A one-page description of how your participation in the meeting will benefit
  • A one-page description of how your participation in the meeting will benefit
  • NASA’s goals of planetary exploration, particularly Venus;
  • A copy of your draft abstract;
  • Your resume;
  • A statement of endorsement from a faculty member.
  • Student travel applications are due on the same date as the abstracts (April 30), but all application materials should be sent to the conveners (Jeff Hollingsworth, jeffery.l.hollingsworth@nasa.gov, Lori Glaze, lori.s.glaze@nasa.gov, and Shawn Domagal-Goldman, shawn.goldman@nasa.gov). Applicants will be notified of the selections by May 8. Questions about these awards can be submitted to the conveners.

    Within the primary theme of CCTP2, the following sub-themes are envisioned to be the chosen subject for presentations/discussions:

    • Comparative Atmospheric Dynamical Processes (fundamentals and hierarchy of models)
    • Atmospheric Planetary Boundary Layer (PBL) Processes
    • Clouds & Aerosols: Microphysical, Radiative, Convection
    • Atmospheric Precipitation/Condensation (snow, and ice caps)
    • Advances in Radiative Transfer in Planetary Atmospheres
    • Dust and Sand Storms on Earth, Mars, and Elsewhere
    • Upper Atmosphere, Thermosphere, Exosphere Processes
    • Oceanic Processes (circulation, etc) on Earth and Exoplanets
    • Atmospheric Chemistries: The Influences On Planetary Climates
    • Stellar Activity: The Impact on Planetary Climates
    • Insights Toward Holistic Climate Systems Science & Climate Evolution
    • Paleostars, the Paleo-Sun, and Space Weather Effects
    • The Future of Numerical (3D) Climate Modeling
    • The Future of Atmosphere & Climate Observations

    Important dates to keep note of:

    • Abstract Submission Opens : 6 March 2015
    • Second CCTP Circular : 3 April 2015
    • Student Travel Grants Deadline : 10 April 2015
    • Abstract Submission Closes : 24 April 2015
    • Submission Notifications : 5 June 2015
    • Final CCTP2 Circular : 26 June 2015
    • Final Agenda & Program : 14 August 2015
    • CCTP2 Conference : 8-11 Sept 2015

    Sincerely Yours,

    Jeffery Hollingsworth (NASA ARC), Co-Organizer
    Lori Glaze (NASA GSFC), Co-Organizer
    Shawn Domagal-Goldman (NASA GSFC), Lead CCTP2 SOC Facilitator

    The Science Organizing Committee (SOC):

    Dave Brain (University of Colorado, Boulder)
    Mark Bullock (SWRI)
    Anthony Del Genio (NASA GISS)
    Lindy Elkins-Tanton (ASU)
    Francois Forget (CNRS/LMD)
    Jonathan Mitchell (University of California, Los Angeles)
    Yvonne Pendleton (NASA ARC)
    Adam Showman (University of Arizona)
    Robin Wordsworth (Harvard University)
    Douglas Rabin (NASA GSFC)

    The Local Organizing Committee (LOC):

    Sandra Owen (NASA ARC), Co-Chair
    Shirley Berthold (SSERVI), Co-Chair
    Jennifer Baer ((SSERVI)
    Amanda Brecht (NASA ARC/BAER)
    Carrie Chavez (NASA ARC/SETI)
    Ricky Guest (SSERVI)
    Maria Leus (SSERVI)
    Ashcon Nejad (SSERVI)
    Greg Schmidt (SSERVI)

    The Ex Officio program participants:

    Patricia Beauchamp (Caltech/JPL)
    Kelly Fast (NASA HQ/PSD)
    Richard Eckman (NASA HQ/ESD)
    Madhulika Guhathakurta (NASA HQ/HPD)
    Adriana Ocampo (NASA HQ/PSD)
    Jonathan Rall (NASA HQ/PSD)
    Martin Still (NASA HQ/APD)
    Thomas Thompson (Caltech/JPL)